It feels really weird to not be celebrating Christmas with my family this year.  There is a stack of gifts sitting in my dining room that won’t be opened today…they will wait until I can get home again.  I don’t know…I think being single and being away from your family is harder than being married and being away from them.  As a single person you have no family – you’re just on your own.  I guess that’s why they call it ‘single’ because there’s one.  When you’re married you have family close by.  Then again I’ve never been married so I don’t really know.  I do know today is different for me.  Right now my family is watching my nieces and nephew open gifts and go crazy over the things they are receiving today.   Wrapping paper is all over the living room by now and everyone is having a great time with each other.

This year Christmas is different for me.

It’s the first time in my 33 years that I have been on my own for Christmas…well at least with no family close by.  I will spend part of the day with a family from church and I am really looking forward to that – still it’s just not the same as being with family.  Don’t take this as a complaint because it’s not.  I knew when i went into ministry that eventually I would miss Christmas with my family – I just always thought I would at least be with my own family…but God’s timing is perfect – even in singleness.

We got a huge snow and my drive was drifted in.  I went out to start my snow blower this morning and it was frozen up and wouldn’t start.  A little while after that I received a text from a friend that said, “I have tractor…on my way.”  It was a great surprise to see the picture below a little bit ago.  It’s good to know there are some who are willing to lend a hand when it’s needed.

