I have been asked by a few people recently what my workout looks like.  Honestly it varies but here are the workouts broken down by days.  This gives an idea for what I do.

Sunday: Day off


Monday: Chest/ Triceps/ Cardio

  • Cardio – 45 minutes of hills intervals on the eliptical working up to 7mph.  I also try to get 45-60 minutes on the treadmill doing incline intervals on level 5 up to 4mph
  • Chest – I LOVE working my chest.  I always have.  I start off with the Hammer Strength Iso-lateral bench.  I do 2 warm-up sets with a 45lb plate on each side.  Then I do 5 sets of 5 reps with two 45lbs plates on each side.  Then I do 3 sets of 8-12 reps of incline bench with dumbbells.  Then I do 3 sets of 10 reps (20lbs dumbbells) of fly’s (going almost to the ground with straight arms) on the bench.  I usually count to 6 seconds per rep.  This really allows for a good strength and gives a good overall form to the pecs.  I also do 3 sets of 10 reps on the bench press machine (150lbs)  as well as the pec-deck (175).
  • Triceps – It goes without saying it’s my second favorite body part to work.  I start off with 3 sets of 10 reps French Press style with 85lbs dumbbells.  This really stretches your triceps.  I then do 3 sets of 10 reps on the cable tricep push-down with about 75lbs.  Then I do 3 sets of 10 reps of bent over tricep pushes One hand on the dumbbell rack – pushing the hand with the dumbbell backwards until fully extended) with 20lbs dumbbells.

Tuesday: Biceps/ Cardio

  • Cardio – 45 minutes of hills intervals on the eliptical working up to 7mph.  I also try to get 45-60 minutes on the treadmill doing incline intervals on level 5 up to 4mph
  • Biceps – I do 3 sets of 10 reps (35lbs dumbbells) sitting on the incline bench.  They key here is to keep your biceps pinched in to your sides if you can.  Then I stand up and do 3 sets of 10 reps with 30lbs dumbbells – I try to go slow so I don’t rock and “cheat.”  I give a tight queeze at the top to give the bicep a good burn.  Then I do a pyramid with the dumbbells.  I start of with the 5’s and do 10 reps.  Move to the 10’s and do 8 reps and on up until I get to 1 rep with the 35’s then immediately I start back down and end up with 10 reps on the 5’s again.  Don’t give yourself much of a break through the entire thing.   I usually finish with 3 sets of 10 with the 75lbs curling bar.

Wednesdays: Shoulders/ Back/ Cardio

  • Cardio – 45 minutes of hills intervals on the eliptical working up to 7mph.  I also try to get 45-60 minutes on the treadmill doing incline intervals on level 5 up to 4mph
  • Shoulders – I do seated military press with dumbbells.  3 sets of 10 with 50lbs.  Then I do front shoulder raises 3 sets of 10 with 20lbs.  Then I move to side shoulder raises 3 sets of 10 reps with 10lbs.  Then I do shoulder fly’s 3 sets of 10 with 40lbs.
  • Back – I’m pretty new to working my back.  But here’s what I do.  3 sets of 10 (200lbs) seated cable rows.  3 sets of 10 (140lbs) lat pull-downs.  Then I do 3 sets of 30 seconds putting a 45lbs plate over my shoulders (switching sides) and stopping shortly at my waist so I don’t rock and “cheat.”  Then I do 3 sets of 10 oblique standing crunches with 65lbs dumbbells.

Thursdays: Cardio/ Legs

  • Cardio – 45 minutes of hills intervals on the eliptical working up to 7mph.  I also try to get 45-60 minutes on the treadmill doing incline intervals on level 5 up to 4mph
  • Legs – 3 sets of 10 on leg extensions with 130lbs – I’m a weannie when it comes to legs.  3 sets of 10 hamstring curls with 100lbs.  I do the hip abductors for inside and outside – 3 sets of 10 with 170lbs.  Calf raises – 3 sets of 10 with 90lbs on the seated machine.  Then I finish with the leg sled.  I do 5 sets of 10.  Last time I worked up to 560lbs on my last set of 10 but probably did 480 for 4 of the 5 sets.

Fridays: Cardio/ Chest/ Triceps

  • I do everything I do on Mondays on Fridays also.

Saturdays: Cardio/ Shoulders/ Back

  • I do everything I do on Wednesdays on Saturdays – might even work in biceps again.  I try to pick up the pace and make it more of an anaerobic workout though to burn more calories.

I might work in some circuit training instead of the last 45 minutes on the treadmill.  I’ll do 4 laps of 30 seconds on all 12 machines.  It usually takes me about 40 minutes with travel time between each machine.  I’ll use lighter weights and go for high reps in 30 seconds for more of a physical burn and calorie burn.  It’s all about keeping moving, cardio and counting calories.

