This week we have Jon Regier here doing the Caring For The Heart Conference.  So far it has been really good.  I have been amazed at the number of couples who have come to seek our counseling for their marriage or life.  All 20 counseling sessions (3 hours long) were filled up as of Sunday afternoon.   We kicked off the conference Sunday morning and had sessions Sunday night and last night.  This is really good stuff.

So far in our first 3 sessions we have covered

  • Damaged Relationships
  • Pressure Patterns
  • Emotional Issues
  • Ways We Respond/ Protect Ourselves from the Pain Others Cause Us

I am learning a lot about how I deal with things – even as a single guy.  Last night as he was talking through Pressure Patterns I came to realize a few things.  I strugge a lot with rejection and dominance/ control.  When I feel like I am being rejected or if I feel like someone is trying to control me then I don’t express myself and withdraw.  I realized some of these things before this week but this has been more of a confirmation for me.  The rejection thing is the one that gets me the most.  I don’t understand why it’s a big thing for me but I do know it affects my relationships and my confidence when it comes to asking about or proposing something that may be rejected.  I’m scared to death of rejection of any form.  I’m not sure where that comes from but I would like to find out so I can move past that.

Tonight Jon is talking about Overcoming Depression and Sexual Abuse.  It’s going to be a heavy night

