Last night I took a few of my guys and we went to Omaha to the Sienna/ Francis House to minister to homeless people.  I wasn’t really sure what to expect going in.  I was by Chicago for two years so I have had interaction with homeless people before.  So it wasn’t that.  It was just different this time.  I think it was because we knew we were going to try to help them by praying for them and talking with them and not turning away from them like people usually do.

When we got there we waited for the Angels on Wheels.  They brought the food and tables to set up and serve from.  Once they were there and everything got set up we were divided into teams of 3-4 people.  our instructions were to just walk around the area and ask the people if we could pray for them.  Sometimes it lead to discussion and sometimes it didn’t.

We were heading to the park that is used as the outlet for pushers and dealers and on our way we were stopped by a man yelling at us telling us we couldn’t pass through the alley he was in.  He thought we were the cops or that we were going to call the cops.  So I just started talking to him and told him we weren’t the cops and we weren’t going to make them move from the alley.  Still he was yelling so I made the choice to start walking towards him and talk to him.  It worked pretty good.  I just walked over and explained to him what we were doing and he calmed down.  We ended up talking to him, Robin and “T” for about 45 minutes.  We were able to pray for them.  Scott (one of the guys with us) shared the Gospel with them while I was talking to another man.  Robin was really the only one who acknowledged she was saved.  I hope so.  We let them vent most of the time.  I kept wondering what the students with me thought as we were standing there while they continually dropped the F-bomb over and over and over.

I can’t wait until we do it again.

