I have been re-learning what it’s like to really push myself while in the gym. Honestly even at just a week and a half in my journey to 100 I am feeling so much better. I have more stamina. More energy. I seem to keep losing weight. My belt is looser today than it was Friday. Sounds crazy I know but it’s all true. For some reason my scale hasn’t been working…at all. I’m hoping it will start working again becuase I don’t want to have to spend money on a new one. I know I’m cheap right.

But pushing yourself doesn’t just happen in the gym. What about in your ministry? How ar you pushing yourself to excel in your current ministry situation? I think it’s an important part of leadership development. You always want to stretch yourself in ways you haven’t been stretched to become a better, more effective leader. If we aren’t pushing ourselves out of our comfort zones we will become stagnant and eventually our ministries will as well. Here are some things to do to keep pushing yourself;

  • Get someone to critique you messages weekly: Our senior pastor comes in every Thursday and critiques my message to the students. I may not always agree with him on the method of delivery but he’s a good sounding board on exegesis and whether or not I am twisting the text to make a point.
  • Read, read, read: Hey you may not agree with everything in every book you read but make sure you are reading. There is a lot of great insight that comes from reading. And not just spiritual books. Read outside of the Christian community. You may be surprised at some helpful tips or creative ideas you can find.
  • Spiritual Journey: How is your walk with Christ going? How are you pushing yourself in this area. Make a commitment to read every day. Read a commentary on a book of the Bible. Allow people to ask you the hard questions. Be open and honest with them as well. Pray like there is no tomorrow. Prayer is such a powerful thing as well as a great way to commune with God.
  • Be visible: Try to be as visible as possible. Sure you may not stay for the whole game. It may be 5, 10, 35 minutes. Whatever amount of time it is be visible. Students love it, parents love it and the people of your church will love it. Just 5 minutes at an outing can make a huge difference in how you are perceived.
  • Challenge your leaders (staff): Be sure to challenge your leaders (staff) and allow them to challenge you. Your team is one of your greatest assets and you need to use it to your advantage. Challenge them with information but don’t drown them with it either. Give them articles or sound bites in small amounts at first. The ones who really want to (or have the time to) go deeper with it will be evident. Not all of your leaders share the same level of passion as your other leaders OR you.

This is by no means an exhaustive list but hopefully these things will help you kick-starting your way to pushing yourself beyond your comfort zone in your ministry.

