Last night was our first ever parents night. Well our first ever parents function of any sort really. Honestly I was pretty disappointed with the turnout from the parents. We had the parents of 6 or 7 students show up. There could be lots of reasons for this. Still it was a little disappointing to see it the way it was. I did enjoy getting to spend some time with the parents that were there. They were very supportive of what we are doing and what we are trying to do. They had some great input. My biggest surprise of the night was the fact that the parents that showed up were just as disappointed in the attendance by parents as I was. I even had a couple of parents ask, “Do other parents help out?” I have never thought of trying to recruit parents to help but now I am thinking about it. While we would have to make sure they don’t lead a discussion group (unless they are believers) still there are other positions they could help fill with concessions or even being greeters at the beginning when the students come in and after when the students are leaving. I think this is a great idea and who knows…maybe someday they would start attending our church with their family or maybe even some families would get saved through this type of ministry to parents while the help us out.

I don’t know if this would even work but now I am thinking about it. What do you think?

