Last night I did our message on communion.  After the message we allowed the students to take communion.  I was surprised at how respectfully they treated it.  Seriously.  It was a great night.  This is just one more thing we are doing this year to be intentional about helping our students grow and understand their faith journey with God.  Right before we took communion I let them know we weren’t forcing them or expecting them to take communion.  I explained that it is a Holy thing and should not be taken lightly.  Then I gave them ones who didn’t want to take it a chance to leave the room as everyone else was coming forward to take it.  I was really impressed at how the students that took it treated those who didn’t want to or possibly shouldn’t with pure respect.  You never heard, “You’re a loser for not doing this.”

I think it was a good night.

