It’s sad some people already view church as this way…alot of people.  It’s interesting the different demands we put on the church we go to.  In a lot of ways (much like the video suggests) we feel we can call the shots becuase we regularly attend.  While I do believe in a congregational style government I do not believe that each individual has the right to call the shots.  But we do.  We are all guilty of it.  In one way or another we “cast our vote” towards certain things in different ways.  Maybe we stop tithing, maybe we stop giving of our time, maybe we talk bad about other people or ministries.  Maybe we let our attendance slide or we choose to not support some area of our church we attend becuase we don’t feel that it’s meeting certain felt needs.  We all do it in some form of another.

Don’t get me wrong.  I do it from time to time as well.  I let my attitude towards certain circumstances get ugly sometimes and I “cast my vote” by being stubborn and cynical.  The thing is that God calls us together to be united.  He calls us together so we can make him look good.  You might ask, “how can we make God look good?  He doesn’t need us in order to look good.”   It is true that God doesn’t need us for anything.  However by our actions or in-actions we make God look ad and sometimes we make him out to be a liar.  John 17: 24 says, “I in them and you in me. May they be brought to complete unity to let the world know that you sent me and have loved them even as you have loved me.”  So according to Christ if we aren’t unified then we make him look bad and make him out to be a liar.  If we have Christ living in us shouldn’t we give other Christians the benefit of the doubt?

How are you casting your vote?

