Dan Kimball has broken this book into 3 parts. (1) Why Emerging Generations Are Changing; (2) What Emerging Generations Think about the Church; and (3) How the Church Can Respond.  Honestly the first and third parts of the book didn’t get to me as much as the second part of the book did.  And when I say “get to me”  I mean that in a good way.  I say the first part didn’t get to me as much because I have been working with youth for 9 years now.  While the culture among youth has been changing over the past 9 years and will continue to change I feel that I have kept up with becoming more educated on their culture.  if we are really honest with ourselves we know that the younger generations coming up are more “spiritual” than those of the past.  they are more willing to talk about “spiritual things”  which I believe helps to open the door to talk to them about the gospel.  They are searching for something and it gives us the perfect opportunity to share God’s story.

There is a lot of good stuff in Part 1.  You can tell within the first part of the book that Dan Kimball is full of compassion for emerging generations.  He says some things that may raise an eyebrow but I think overall he has some really good stuff to say.  It’s worth giving the book a read.

syp

