tozer.jpg

What do you think of when you think of being anchored?  Sometimes when I think of being anchored in something I often think of complacency or being comfortable in something.  I would venture to say that most of us feel the same way.   What are we anchored in?  What are you anchored in?  Hopefuly we are anchored in a bond or a union with Christ.  If you think about it honestly Christ is the only person that can author true life change.  With true life change we become anchored into the life of Christ.  His teachings.  His attitude.  His way of life.  Often though we stop just short which makes me ask myself, “Why?”  Don’t get me wrong there are times (more than I would like to admit) where I stop short of fulling living anchored in Christ.  Sometimes those shortcomings are reflected in my thoughts, attitudes, actions, non-actions, speech, and even in my silence.

We want to do what is right but we struggle with sin and do what goes against God’s Word.  Paul struggled with this as we see in Romans 7 and Philippians 1:17-22.  I love what he says in verses 21-22, “For to me to live is Christ, and to die is gain.   If I am to live in the flesh, that means fruitful labor for me. Yet which I shall choose I cannot tell”  his choice is between fruitful labor or earthly reward in the temporary form or to choose an eternal reward by living for Christ.   the encouraging thing is that guys like Paul struggled with the same thing.

It is easy for me to beat myself up as I wrestle with this in my own life..but it is encouraging to know that God used guys like Paul.

syp

