I have recently found out that about 25 of our middle school guys have now formed a “gang.”  The sad thing is they really do not know what they are doing.  I grew up (for the most part) in Burlington, IA and we didn’t have a ton of gang activity.  there were some guys who thought they were in a gang.  There was the occasional drive by shooting somewhere but it wasn’t really all that often.  It was definitely nothing like Chicago, LA, St. Louis, Atlanta or Detroit where gang activity happens every day.   So we now have this “gang” in town.

One of our leaders grew up in LA.  He had been involved in some gang activity when he was younger.  I am pumped becuase tonight he is going to share his testimony with all of our students.  This is very exciting for me.  He has been wanting to do this for a long time actually but has never really felt the timing was right.  We have been talking about this for a few weeks now and I told him, “I think this is a God thing that you share your testimony this coming week.”  He said he wanted to think about it.  So I called him today and he said he has a great peace about sharing it tonight and is looking forward to it.  I am stoked!

If you come across this post before tonight please pray that his testimony is used in a powerful way.  I now he is able to really relate to these kids..if only they will allow God to speak into their lives tonight.

syp

