I in my previous posts I posted about relational ministry and how we should be involved in it. That it should shape the way we do ministry. I also posted on how relational ministry can make an impact by sharing a story of a student where relational ministry (not just from myself but others from within our church) had an impact on him.

I would like to share a few thoughts on how relational ministry has impacted me. Most people see me as ‘closed’ or possibly not a people person. I honestly really am. I love people. I love being around people. The thing is that I don’t have to be the focus. The attention doesn’t have to be on me…but trust me I love going to where people are. People = the opportunity for ministry. So how has relational ministry impacted me?

Over the past 3 years I have had a a young man from our student ministry living with me. I never thought that at the age of 27 (then) that I would become a guardian of a 17 year old teenager. Quickly I became aware of the pains, concerns and frustrations that a parent goes through on a personal level. I never considered myself to be in a parental role..more of a brother and unfortunately a source of authority. I have learned a lot about myself and life over the past few years. I have learned more than ever about how you can’t put yourself first. How we need to be more self-sacrificing. More caring of others and their needs. I learned better how to care for others first before myself. I learned what acquiring patience really means. I learned what travailing in prayer really means. I learned what it was like to have someone else depend on you for things. I learned what it was like to try to offer stability to more than just myself. I learned that I still need to grow and mature in some areas I thought I was doing alright in. I learned how to better bite my tongue.

It has been an amazing past couple of years. Whether we (him or I) like it or not we have more than likely been bonded together for more than likely the rest of our lives. I hope that I have been a a source of encouragement + wisdom + spiritual direction + growth + odd banter + love + stability for him….i know in different ways he has been for me.

syp

