I went back to south eastern Iowa for Christmas again this year. It was good to be able to spend time with my parents, my sister and brother-in-law and my brother and sister-in-law as well as their 3 kids. I love my nieces and my new nephew. Too much fun to play with. There is nothing more delightful to my ears that to hear my nieces get in trouble and say, almost as if they know it’s a “get out of trouble free card”, say “but uncle Chris said I could.” It is so funny and devious.

It was a good 1.5 weeks. I was able to relax and get up whenever I wanted with no obligations…almost sounds like a youth pastors normal day right? I love my family to death. We are all so different. I always tell everyone I was adopted. My dad is a redneck through and through…and not ashamed to tell you so himself. Rarely do you ever have to guess what he is thinking. It’s great.

So another Christmas has come and gone and it will be another 6-7 months before I see my family again. I hope the time goes by quick.

syp

