I preached this weekend in “big church.” I think this morning went a lot better than last night but we will have to wait and see. It just felt like it flowed a lot better and was a lot smoother today. Definitely felt more comfortable….not sure why. I guess because it was the second time through it for me. Had a lot of great compliments after this mornings service. One of the ladies at church said,

“You will make a really fine preacher someday. You did a great job.”

Definitely was a highlight of the morning…you always want to know you did well..but I didn’t want to tell her that I didn’t want to ever be a senior pastor. Not that there is anything wrong with being a senior pastor. I just don’t see youth ministry as a stepping stone to a “higher calling.” The profession of youth ministry has come a long way in the last 20 years and it is a profession now…it’s something that can stand on it’s own. I want to be a youth pastor or somehow connected to youth ministry even once I hit retirement age.

syp

